Purchased My Own Boxing Headgear

Using headgear has become a bit controversial.  One thought is that by using it one could reduce the focus on defense and receive more shots to the head.  While each shot would be less damaging than what would happen if no headgear was worn, the cumulative affect would be more damaging.  It’s a similar argument that exists in many sports where the protective gear allows for more aggressiveness and potentially less care.

I understand that argument.  I don’t know what the reality of it is, but I understand it.  Personally, I think it’s an individual thing.  If you come to rely on it then yes, I can see it.  If headgear is just another protective tool in your toolbox and you still work as hard as you can on avoiding blows to the head, then it’s a smart precaution.

However ….. none of that really matters as the rules of amateur boxing, and specifically, the ones used by MPower during their Fight Night are clear …. you WILL wear approved headgear.

Punchout Glass Joe
Punchout Glass Joe

MPower has headgear for us to use.  It’s good gear.  If I could find headgear that fit just right, get it adjusted, and use that same headgear each time, I’d use theirs.  Obviously, I can’t guarantee that.  Last night before our sparring, we all went to get headgear and there was enough to go around but I just started to think that maybe I should get my own.  I had considered getting my own headgear a few days ago, but I made the decision to pull the trigger while I was walking towards the gear and everybody else was picking a set out.  I’m serious about training, and Fight Night, so I should commit to some gear.

During sparring I got hit in the head a few times by jabs, one cross and one hook.  I’m working on not having that happen but it’s going to.  Since I WILL get hit, and I’ll be 50 years old by the time Fight Night occurs, I want to make sure I get a good set of headgear.  I don’t need top of the line, but I also don’t want to cheap out either.

RIVAL RHG10 INTELLI-SHOCK HEADGEAR
RIVAL RHG10 INTELLI-SHOCK HEADGEAR

After losing some sleep researching over the last few days, and specifically last night, I decided to go with Rival Boxing’s RHG10 INTELLI-SHOCK HEADGEAR.

I read many reviews and watched youtube reviews as well, and several stood out as what I was looking for.  In the end, I just went with a gut feeling and chose this one.  Why?  Not sure.  Maybe I just liked the looks of it, or when I winked at it I got a wink back?  Heck, not sure why, but it was on my short list and I don’t think it would have mattered which one I chose.

I have no opinion on how it will feel, or work for me.  When it arrives I’ll get it fitted and then wear it while doing non-sparring training, just to get used to it.  They are supposed to arrive this coming Monday.  If they do I’ll wear it while sparring and see how they hold up for real (sparring) use.

So … there you go.  I’ve got my own headgear.  It’s a good feeling.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑